Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Rizon LimitServ

  1. #1
    Rizon Staff Jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Guadalajara
    Posts
    538

    Default Rizon LimitServ

    Many rooms on Rizon use different forms of bots/scripts to keep a constant limit on the room to avoid flood attacks. This is something we have seen on other networks as well. The biggest issue with this is when that client loses internet often the room will end up with a limit too low and users can't get into the room for a short while. Or other rooms simply don't have the resources or know how to set one of these up.

    Rizon has now created a new service known as LimitServ in which will do this for you. The service keeps the limit of the room a few above the actual amount of users in the room and periodically checks it to make sure the room isn't at its maximum. Unlike most other scripts/bots this one will not change the limit of the room every 30-60 seconds if just one or no one joins. Many other bots constantly update the limit in cases where it is really not needed and just spam the room with very unwanted limit changes constantly.

    LimitServ is now open to the general public on Rizon. To add this feature to your channel the founder must simply type:

    /msg LimitServ request #channelname

    To remove this feature the founder simply has to type:

    /msg LimitServ remove #channelname


    If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions please post them below.


    Thank You.
    Rizon Staff.
    Last edited by djahandarie; 01-16-2013 at 02:04 AM. Reason: update commands
    Rizon CEO
    Jason
    Jason@Rizon.net

  2. #2
    Member Locotes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Somewhere I belong
    Posts
    69

    Default

    Awesome
    Maybe it would be handy if we could change the number of the increasing channel limit. For example you can use a command to increase the channel limit with 5, 10, 15 or 20 or any other number.

  3. #3
    Rizon Staff Jason's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Guadalajara
    Posts
    538

    Default

    We discussed for a little while how we wanted to set this. We eventually decided the best way to do it would be to set a range. IE if the room has 50-99 users set limit +5 if the room has 100-300 se the limit +7 etc. It is far easier on our resources if we set it up in this manner rather than letting every room set their on personal settings. We also left room for modifications in it but hope the current settings are sufficient enough. Thanks for the suggestion though.


    -NessunMobile
    Last edited by Jason; 04-09-2009 at 09:00 AM.
    Rizon CEO
    Jason
    Jason@Rizon.net

  4. #4
    Rizon Staff Kittie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Albania
    Posts
    23

    Default

    That's a pretty useful service, and what I like more is that the limit rises by the number of users that are in the room, so huge channels with 1k+ users wont have any problems to join more than 5 users at a time. Congrats Rizon staff

  5. #5
    Senior Member escnuk3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    926

    Default

    Nessun is always busy making Rizon a better place to IRC since 1974. :P
    escnuk3r
    irc.rizon.net
    Server Admin

    ___________________________
    [Services Operator]
    [ Vhost Team Member ]
    [ Kline Team Member ]
    escnuk3r@rizon.net

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •